Apr 17, 2021 · 3:34 PM

Museum. Collection. Future.

2 March to 16 May 2021

curated by Sabine Schaschl, Evelyne Bucher, Eliza Lips

On the occasion of its 35th anniversary, Museum Haus Konstruktiv is pleased to show a spectacular collection exhibition. Under the title RESET, selected new additions are presented, together with outstanding collection pieces that have not been shown for some time. In the Spotlight section, these chosen artworks are supplemented by four relatively young Swiss artists’ newly produced works. On the basis of their positions, we demonstrate the direction in which our collection could be extended in the future.

The drive to keep addressing the in-house collection in depth, enhancing and shedding light on its various facets, is always present in the museum’s work, but has been further intensified by the pandemic. In the title RESET, we make reference to a concept from electronics, which describes returning a system to its defined initial state. With such a process in mind, we reflect on our core tasks in this show: collection, conservation and mediation of constructivist-concrete and conceptual art. Where did our collection begin? How does it come across at the moment? Where is it heading? And how is it linked to current issues and developments?

The result is an exhibition that encompasses painting, sculpture, installation and video, while also generating new conceptual spaces by drawing astonishing connecting lines: from the most recent acquisitions and donations, to older collection pieces by artists outside the Zurich Concretists’ innermost circle.

With artworks by: Marina Apollonio (b. 1940), Jakob Bill (b. 1942), Ulla von Brandenburg (b. 1974), Andreas Brandt (1935–2016), Claudia Comte (b. 1983), Arturo Di Maria (b. 1940), Ulrich Elsener (b. 1943), Rita Ernst (b. 1956), Sylvie Fleury (b. 1961), Arend Fuhrmann (1918–1984), Fritz Glarner (1899–1972), Hans Jörg Glattfelder (b. 1939), Daniel Göttin (b. 1959), Clare Goodwin (b. 1973), Marguerite Hersberger (b. 1943), Hans Hinterreiter (1902–1989), Beat Huber (b. 1956), Heidi Künzler (1943–2019), Manfred Mohr (b. 1938), Thomas Moor (b. 1988), Marcello Morandini (b. 1940), Olivier Mosset (b. 1944), Jan van Munster (b. 1939), Willy Müller-Brittnau (1938–2003), Sadie Murdoch (b. 1965), Carsten Nicolai (b. 1965), Michael Riedel (b. 1972), Nelly Rudin (1928–2013), Francisco Sierra (b. 1977), Nedko Solakov (b. 1957), Peter Somm (b. 1940), Renato Spagnoli (19282019), Cristina Spoerri (1919–2013), Natalia Stachon (b. 1976), Anton Stankowski (1906–1998), Jürg Stäuble (b. 1948), Dominik Stauch (b. 1962), Peter Struycken (b. 1939), Zdeněk Sýkora (1920–2011), Sophie Taeuber-Arp (1889–1943), Cassidy Toner (b. 1992), Romy Weber (b. 1936), Markus Weggenmann (b. 1953), Gido Wiederkehr (b. 1941), Shizuko Yoshikawa (1934–2019) and Beat Zoderer (b. 1955)

In the Spotlight section invited artists: Alexander Bühler (b. 1977), Guillaume Pilet (b. 1984), Sam Porritt (b. 1979), Ana Strika (b. 1981)

Made possible by


With friendly support from


Beyond Foundation
Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim-Stiftung
Max und Martha Dangel Stiftung
Kanton Waadt                                         
Elisabeth Weber Stiftung

Pictures above:
Exhibition views Museum Haus Konstruktiv, 2021. Photos: Stefan Altenburger / Heidi Künzler, Raumskulptur, 2010. © 2021, ProLitteris Zurich (4) / Alexander Bühler, Billboard Nostalgia, 2021 (5) / Sam Porritt, Untitled (Where Dust Gathers), 2021 (6) / Ana Strika, Eins nach dem andern, 2021 (8)

Museum Haus Konstruktiv · Selnaustrasse 25 · 8001 Zürich · +41 (0)44 217 70 80 · info@hauskonstruktiv.ch
© 2021 Museum Haus Konstruktiv. The content of this website is copyright-protected and serves only to provide information on a non-legally-binding basis.
Apr 17, 2021
3:30:00 PM CEST